Australia defeated India by six wickets to win their sixth ICC Cricket World Cup title

Head and Labuschagne led Australia in the chase after their bowlers put up a brilliant display to defeat batting powerhouse India for 240 runs.

Australia pulled off an upset by beating hosts and unbeaten tournament favorites India by six wickets to win the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup in Ahmedabad and extend their stunning record of title wins to seven.

A calm but experienced Australian team cruised to a comfortable victory despite conceding three early wickets at a packed Narendra Modi Stadium on Sunday evening.

The middle-order batsman scored 137 runs from 120 balls and Marnus Labuschagne scored 58 from 110 balls as Australia returned home.

It brought the trophy to captain Pat Cummins and his team, who were not considered favorites at the start of the tournament more than six weeks ago.

Indeed, Australia and India began their campaigns against each other in Chennai on October 8, when star Indian batsman Virat Kohli combined with KL Rahul to lead his team to a moderate total and earn their first win of the tournament.

India found themselves in a similar situation in Ahmedabad, where Kohli (54) and Rahul (66) once again came together for a rescue operation. However, after India collapsed on the biggest stage, their target was a paltry 241 at the end of 50 overs.

The Australian bowlers, led by Mitchell Starc’s scintillating display of fast bowling with figures of 3-55 in his 10 overs, regularly dismissed the Indian batting powerhouse. Captain Cummins finished with figures of 2-34 in 10 overs while fellow seamer Josh Hazlewood had figures of 2-60 in his 10 overs.

India captain Rohit Sharma started the innings in his typically attacking fashion, scoring 47 runs off 31 balls, but apart from Kohli and Rahul, no other Indian batsman threatened the Australian bowlers on a pitch that provided balance between bat and ball.

Australia last won the title at home in 2015. The seventh title extends their lead over the rest of the title-winning nations, including India, who have two titles, as well as the West Indies.

Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have won the title once.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button