Jaffna Stallions' celebrates.

In this profile, we will break down the Jaffna Stallions. They are the current champion of the Lanka Premier League. It is one of the most loved and stable teams in the LPL.


With the first edition of the Sri Lankan Premier League, in 2012. Sri Lankans fans were very excited for their very own national league. A national league is always very close to every citizen’s heart. Thus, everyone was anticipating a very spirited and interesting league and it was delivered. The first edition ended with Uva Next bagging the title. Hence, fans were even more thrilled and couldn’t wait for the next edition. However, to everyone’s disappointment, it was announced that the SLPL was canceled and so the fans of the league were left dejected.

Then to the fans’ utmost happiness, The Super 4’s T20 replaced the Sri Lanka Premier League. It started in 2014. However, it too was canceled after only one season.

Finally, after all these cancellations, Sri Lanka Cricket decided to give the concept one more try. The board announced the Lanka Premier League that would begin in 2020. Just last year, the first edition of the Premier League was played. Without a doubt, we can say that fans were really happy with this League and enjoyed it to the fullest.

Team analysis

Captained by Thisara Perera, Jaffna Stallions is certainly reliant on their overseas stars to fire, and in Shoaib Malik, Kyle Abbott, and Duanne Oliver, they have three experienced players who can be the key. As they were victorious last year, it seems that they have their victory secret down. They seem to be a well-balanced team and play steadily and sensibly. They have a nice collection of both overseas and national players, which is obviously beneficial for them.

Where can I watch the LPL?

Watching LPL from Sri Lanka:

To watch the LPL from Sri Lanka tune into ITN (Independent Television Network) which has secured the local terrestrial rights to broadcast.

Watching LPL from India:

You can watch the LPL on your TV, in India, as Sony Six and Sony Six HD have bought rights to broadcast live coverage of LPL – Lankan Premier League 2020. They will also stream it in Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, and Nepal. All matches will be streamed live on the SonyLiv digital platform (Website, App).

Watching LPL from other countries in Asia:

PTV Sports and Geo Super (Geo TV) are the popular cricket broadcasters in Pakistan for all the International, Domestic, and T20 Leagues played around the world. Cricket viewers in Pakistan can tune to any of these TV channels and their digital platforms. They can also tune into the app or website, for online streaming. Pakistan’s state broadcaster, PTV, will also broadcast the LPL for Pakistani viewers. Cricket fans from Bangladesh can tune into LPL matches from a live broadcast on Gazi TV (GTV).

Jaffna Stallions Batter.

Watching LPL from UK and USA:

In the UK and Ireland, Sky Sports will be broadcasting all LPL matches. All matches of the 2020 LPL will be shown live on Sky Sports after the company acquired the UK and Ireland TV broadcast rights for the tournament. UK viewers will have the facilities to watch all matches exclusively live on Sky Sports. Cricket viewers in the United States can watch Lankan Premier League live coverage on Willow TV. Canadian viewers can watch LPL on Willow TV.

Watching LPL from Africa and the Caribbean:

To watch the LPL from the Caribbean, you should tune into FlowSports, as they have acquired the rights to broadcast it. In South Africa, SuperSport will telecast live coverage of the Lankan Premier League; all matches will also be live-streamed on the SuperSport Website and App.

Watching LPL from MENA:

BeIN Sports have attained the TV rights to broadcast live coverage of LPL 2020 in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) Countries, here is the list – Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, UAE, and Yemen. Mainly, BeIN is the channel to tune to if you wish to watch the LPL.

Other countries are listed in the Official Broadcasters List.

How can I watch the LPL for free?


CricHD is an excellent option if you’re looking for a free alternative to watch live cricket matches. It streams all LPL matches for free. Once you open the site, you’ll see all matches that are being live-streamed at the moment. You can search for any live streams as well as search for past streams. Another fun feature is you can make a free account and partake in the live chat box, this way you’ll be able to communicate with other LPL viewers. There may be several pop-up ads so you need to be cautious with those.


Similarly, Crictime is another free live streaming website. It works similarly to CricHD. It has a user-friendly interface which makes it extremely accessible. So you get free cricket and it’s easy to use. We would recommend checking out this website if you’re still looking for a free alternative. Like every other free streaming site, it has pop-up ads that can be annoying, but anything for free cricket!


The cricket live streaming on Smartcric is, to the relief of all cricket fans, free. And second of all, the quality of the stream is top-notch HD quality. You can watch all the matches in 720P and 1080P High-Definition quality. It won’t buffer a lot as well, since, Smartcric allows smooth live streaming of cricket matches in HD. Another, reliable site as it streams all LPL matches.


If you’re unable to afford expensive subscriptions, WebCric is your go-to solution. It streams all LPL matches for free. It has a user-friendly interface which makes it easy to use and it has smooth streaming with not much buffering. This makes it an excellent alternative.

Key players

Thisara Perera:

Thisara Perera.

The captain has had to lead from the front what would be considered a fairly young crop of Sri Lanka cricketers in the squad Thisara brought forth his best which makes Jaffna Stallions a force to be reckoned with. Thisara Perera hadn’t been in his best form at the beginning of LPL but with hard work and consistency, he pulled through well for his team.

Shoaib Malik:

Shoaib Malik

Malik has played in T20 leagues all around the world and brings with him valuable experience, which the Stallions benefit from. Malik starred with the bat for Peshawar Zalmi in PSL 2020 Eliminator 1, but couldn’t see his side through as they lost to eventual finalists Lahore Qalandars. He tends to be cool-headed when on the crease which allows him to think clearly and put runs on the board.

Wanindu Hasaranga:

Wanindu Hasaranga

He was the highest wicket-taker in the 2020 edition of LPL. Hasaranga is definitely one of the best all-rounders in the squad. He has worked hard to earn his place in the team. His consistency in the tournament deserves applause.

We hope you found this profile on the Jaffna Stallions insightful. Stay tuned to Sports404 for more news on Jaffna Stallions